Cranberry Walnut Biscotti

screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-10-19-21-am

So the past few posts have mainly been about me and veganism. (If you haven’t checked them out yet, please do so!) So today I want to post something a little more interactive for you, a recipe! This recipe can be made non-vegan if you’re into that (my dad) or vegan, as always. I like to think of this biscotti as slightly healthier than the ones you find in the grocery store, but tbh they’re all just an excuse to eat cookies for breakfast. Nothing wrong with that!

As a college student living in a dorm with limited baking supplies and a sub-par kitchen, I find I really miss the therapeutic action of baking. So please, do me a favor and make this recipe for me! If you want to deliver some to my dad, he’ll be your best friend. He tried to get me to sell them once, set up a table at the farmer’s market because they’re that good. I made him some for Christmas this year, but unfortunately it was bad timing on my part since he’s trying the whole low FODMAP thing. So he brought them to work, and they were gone in minutes! Let me know what you think.

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • between 3/4 -1 cup sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks OR 5 servings egg replacement (see table below)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1.5 cup dried cranberries (can mix with raisins, too)
  • zest of 1 lemon

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Measure out nuts, cranberries, and lemon zest. Set aside.
  2. In an electric mixer fitted with paddle attachment, combine flour, baking powder, sugar and salt.
  3. In a smaller bowl, mix eggs, yolks (or egg replacement) and vanilla.
  4. Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients and mix on low until a sticky dough forms. (It will be very sticky!) Stir in nuts, cranberries, and zest.
  5. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray. Turn the dough out onto a well floured board (NOT COUNTER! It will be very very sticky, so there better be a lot of flour on that board). Coat hands with flour and, handling as little as possible, transfer dough onto cookie sheet, simultaneously reshaping it into a log-like shape. (This takes skill, so be prepared).
  6. Bake 25 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes and turn down oven to 275. Transfer biscotti to a cutting board, and cut into 1/2 inch slices and return to the baking sheet, one side down. Bake another 10 minutes, then flip them over to other side and bake another 10 minutes. Let cool on a wire wrack.

Egg replacement!

Ok I find when I want to make a non-vegan baked good, I can often replace 1 egg for ½ a banana or even ½ cup silken tofu. But if you’re fancier and prefer a more egg-like texture, I recommend either flax or chia seeds. Check out this table for more ideas and specifics!

egg_replacements

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

