What I Eat in a Day

Hey everyone! Is anyone else snowed in? It was a winter wonderland here at Tufts, so no classes for us! I slept late, stayed in bed sipping coffee and scrolling through Instagram, and watched the white world outside swirl against my window.  I’d say that’s a great start to the day! I need some new Netflix ideas as I’m just finishing up the Office. Any ideas?

Even though today was less of a “typical” day on campus, I still had a pretty normal day of eating. If you’ve ever wondered how a vegan college athlete can find enough healthy and delicious food on campus, this is the post for you! I mainly stick to the dining hall, but occasionally (like today) I snack on off-campus food from my fridge.

I’m not a huge day-time snacker, so my day normally consists of a breakfast latte, dining hall lunch and dinner, and a large late night snack. I find with classes and practice, this is what works best for me! But everyone’s body has different needs and preferences, and there’s nothing wrong with that. So take my day as inspiration or entertainment, but don’t feel like it’s “correct” in any way, shape or form.

Breakfast:

I like to start my day with a dorm-made mocha latte, made with soy milk from the dining hall, Starbucks ground coffee, and cocoa powder. My new latte maker I got for Christmas works great, and saves me a lot of money, too. But don’t get me wrong, I still love a good coffee date!

FullSizeRender.jpg

Lunch:

After my first morning class, I go straight to the dining hall for an early lunch. Tufts has an extensive salad bar and great vegan burgers, so my go-to lunch is a big salad with hummus, balsamic vinegar, and a couple veggie burgers. Try the hummus & balsamic vinegar in place of dressing one day, you’ll never go back!

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Dinner:

Sometimes I’m just not feeling the standard dinner options. Don’t get me wrong, the dining hall has excellent vegan dishes! But tonight I was in the mood for PBJ. I ended up eating 2 because this girl is never satisfied with just one! Along with chocolate soy milk on the side.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

Night Snack:

Tonight I had a lot of food leftover from when I recently went home. So, I decided to snack on that tonight! I started out with some grapes I stole from the dining hall, then had avocado sushi rolls from Whole Foods. I finished up with a sweet potato that I cooked in the microwave, and voila! That’s a day of eating for me.

fullsizerender-2

I know my diet is a little untraditional, so please let me know if you have any questions or comments! The main things I consider when choosing my foods are: a variety of veggies everyday, healthy fats, vegan protein, and whole grains. Of course if I’m feeling something sweet, I don’t restrict! How do you fuel your day? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

