Mindfulness

One aspect of health that is frequently neglected is mental health. The World Health Organization (WHO) defines health as “a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” So maybe you’ve been eating great and exercising every day, but as a result you’ve missed out of social events and have been feeling down on yourself when you don’t follow your diet. According to WHO, you’re not actually healthy.

At first, I had no interest in meditation. I hate to sit still, so why would I voluntarily do nothing for 10 minutes when I could instead be doing something productive? In 7th grade I started taking a yoga class once a week with a few of my friends, and I gradually grew to enjoy it. At first I stuck with it merely because I liked the way it made me feel, and the nice lady would rub good smelling lavender oil on us during shavasana. It took a few years, but half way through high school yoga become a mental and spiritual practice for me, as well.

Late in my high school career, my school started implementing a mindfulness initiative to try to reduce school stress. It was still pretty small-scale, but for my senior project I decided to help develop the mindfulness program through research, creation of the Zen room, and a 3-day yoga & meditation workout in health classes. It was a huge success! All the feedback I got was positive, so over the summer I led a 5-week guided meditation workshop at my local yoga studio. The audience was much different (40+ compared to high school kids) but the response was still overwhelmingly positive.

Since I’ve arrived at college, my meditation and yoga practice has significantly dropped off. But I want to get back into it, so I downloaded the app Koru Mindfulness. Unlike other meditation apps, this one is actually free! (Not the fake free where you have to pay a monthly fee to get the full features). It’s also created by a Tufts alumni! So it must be good. Who else has a meditation practice?

If you need motivation to start, here are 10 reasons in a pretty infographic.

10-science-based-reasons-to-start-meditating-today-infographic-edited

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

