Restaurant Review: Martha’s Vineyard

Only 1 week, 5 rainy days, and 2 finals left until summer! I’m already looking forward to my family vacation to Martha’s Vineyard this June. We have been visiting Martha’s Vineyard every summer for as long as I can remember. As a result, it feels like my second home! Or maybe my first home. Either way, I love it, partly because I always eat the BEST vegan food there! There are plenty more non-vegan options that are yummy, too (just ask my fam) but I’m going to focus on the best restaurants on the island and what I usually order.

Breakfast:

  • Black Dog Tavern, 20 Beach Street Extension Vineyard Haven
    You have probably seen their trademark blog Labrador logo plastered on signs, hats, and bumper stickers. The Black Dog is a huge part of summer vineyard culture! Their bakery cafés have outstanding muffins, but in terms of vegan options it’s pretty limited. Still, we always have to go for brunch once while we’re there! I like to get granola with soy milk, fruit, and half a grapefruit.
    screen-shot-2017-05-04-at-3-14-42-pm.png
  • Art Cliff Diner, 39 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven
    Vegetable quinoa sauté (I forget the real name). This restaurant is THE BEST breakfast place on the island. There is always at least an hour wait (so get there early) and everyone, no matter the dietary restriction or preference, can find something to eat here. Art Cliff is in the style of an old fashioned diner with an upbeat and bubbly atmosphere. It’s just down the street from a toy store, too.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.03.46 PM.png

Lunch:

  • Pie in the Sky Bakery & Café, 10 Water St, Woods Hole
    Ok I’m cheating. This technically is not on Martha’s Vineyard, but it is always a stop for my family when we wait for the ferry! After arriving at Woods Hole, my mom and I walk up to order coffee and food. I get a simple veggies roll up, perfectly fresh for the summer season! Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.14.53 PM.png
  • Scottish Bake House, 977 State Rd, Vineyard Haven
    This place was a recent discovery, but by far my favorite restaurant on the island! For both lunch and dinner, they have the best vegan options I’ve ever had on the Vineyard. Not to mention the cookies… I love how most ingredients are local, and you actually feel good knowing where your food is coming from. My go-to lunch is sautéed kale, sweet potato wedges, and black beans! So simple but so good.
    Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.13.35 PM.png Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.11.07 PM.png

Dinner:

  • Chesca’s, 38 N Water St Edgartown
    Time to get fancy! If you want high quality food, this is the place. Vegan options are limited, but by mixing and matching apps, I usually have a great dinner! I start with the warm bread and white bean dip they bring to the table, then order the tuscan white bean soup, sautéed broccolini and a wilted baby spinach salad. Lots of veggies and beans! And of course sorbet to finish.
    Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 8.54.06 PM.png
  • Seafood Shanty, 31 Dock St, Edgartown
    Show up to a seafood restaurant, what can a vegan possibly eat? Sushi! Plus they have a bunch of yummy side veggie options. But my go-to is avocado rolls and edamame. So simple, but my favorite! I’ll take any excuse to eat avocado sushi.
    Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 8.09.20 PM.png

Dessert:

  • Chilmark Chocolates, 19 State Road, Chilmark
    If you think you know good chocolate, you don’t until you visit Chilmark Chocolates.   No, it’s not vegan (I eat chocolate) but you cannot miss this place! It’s out of the way and has weird hours, but make sure you get there right away or else you’ll be stuck in a long line. Do not leave the island without stopping here!
    Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.13.46 PM.png
  • Mad Martha’s, 7 North Water St, Edgartown
    Unfortunately I do not know of any vegan ice cream places on the Vineyard (if you know of any, please let me know in the comments!) but sorbet is always a good option. If you go eat dairy, check out Mad Martha’s! Voted best on the island, Mad Martha’s ice cream is a daily snack for my family!
    Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 2.49.18 PM.png

Coffee:

  • Behind the Bookstore, 46 Main Street, Edgartown
    This place is also relatively new, but so good! It’s definitely a higher end coffee place, but the atmosphere is irresistible. Their coffees, teas, and avocado toast are some of the best (and fanciest) I’ve had. Sit outside on the covered patio or bring your latte into the bookstore to enjoy with a great read!
    Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 2.28.40 PM.png
  • Toccopuro Coffee, 3 South Water St Edgartown
    This place is a relatively new coffee shop, but they are definitely worth your time. They have so many high quality vegan coffee options, and some tasty lunch or breakfast foods, too! Just simple, clean foods with excellent lattes.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 8.08.31 PM.png

I hope this was helpful! Let me know if you end up visiting anywhere on the island, or if you have more suggestions for places I should try!

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

