Best Coffee on Martha’s Vineyard

Ahhh vacation! For me, that means two weeks on the Vineyard soaking up the sun… and caffeine! Even on vacation, the work of a blogger never stops. I have a duty to my readers to provide the best food and fitness advice possible, so even on vacation I worked long hours to test as many different coffee spots as possible. Aren’t I kind?

Ok maybe that’s not entirely true, but I did try a bunch of coffee shops, and I do always think of my readings (cuz you’re awesome and I love you). Since it is summer, I mainly stuck with iced coffee with soy milk (or iced soy lattes) as my test value. I can’t say this experiment was purely scientific, as I’m certain there were other variables, but I can offer a general comparison based on my own personal preferences. At the very least, here’s a list of coffee stops for you to explore while on the island!

7. Toccopuro

I want to start off by saying that I never had bad coffee on the Vineyard. This little place in Edgartown has impressive cold brew, the most extensive coffee and tea selection I saw on the island, and unique breakfast and lunch options! The day I got coffee at Toccopuro I ordered a soy latte, which was a mistake since it was 80° out and I soon became too hot to truly enjoy it! I definitely recommend getting a cold brew and a Buddha bowl for lunch!

screen-shot-2017-05-04-at-8-08-31-pm.png

6. The Scottish Bakehouse

Though it’s not my #1 for Coffee, it is my favorite restaurant on the island! The Scottish Bakehouse has the best local, organic, and fresh foods with plenty of vegan options, as well! I was disappointed with the first iced coffee I got, but when I went back for cold brew it was very good! My only critique is that there is only one size (16 oz) and that’s not always enough for me. Be sure to grab a cold brew along with vegan cookies, roasted Brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes for the perfect picnic lunch.

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.06.52 PM.png

5. Chilmark Coffee @ the YMCA

One of the best parts of vacation was my morning workout at the Martha’s Vineyard YMCA. It’s a small facility, but equipped with brand new cardio and weight machines, large pool, and more! The staff was friendly and helpful, and it never got overly busy. Before every workout I would stop by the cafe to get an iced coffee with almond milk. It was inexpensive, my preferred size (24 oz), and made with Chilmark Coffee! Treat yourself for your hard work with some delicious coffee at the Y!

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.17.31 PM.png

4. The Black Dog Café

A staple part of the island, you can’t go wrong with the Black Dog! If you go for Brunch there may be a line, but the waffles are definitely worth the wait! If you’re like me and you just want some high quality coffee, stop by the Black Dog Cafe for 3 different options of self-serve iced coffee, and soy milk at no additional charge! The sizing is kinda funky (20 oz and 32 oz) so either go big or go home, I guess. The 20oz worked well for me, and I appreciated the ability to determine my own iced coffee to soy milk ratio!

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 3.14.42 PM

3. Art Cliff Diner

You can’t stop by and grab something to go very easily, but I also wouldn’t recommend it. You want to stay here for a while! Art Cliff Diner always has long lines, but that’s because it is by far the best restaurant on the island. Period. Their menu is extensive, and everything tastes amazing! Whether you want a meaty breakfast sandwich, local eggs with your waffles, homemade crêpes, or just something light, Art Cliff will satisfy everyone. They even have vegan French toast! But I haven’t even gotten to the coffee yet. Large mugs, plenty of almond milk, and the best old-time atmosphere to go with it. You don’t want to miss this brunch!

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.27.52 PM.png

2. Behind The Bookstore

Books, fancy coffee, can’t get better than that. This was the most artistic coffee spots I found on the island, with incredibly high quality, hand crafted coffee. The baristas were highly skilled and knowledgable about coffee, and every cup, both tea and coffee, was individually brewed. And it made a noticeable difference. Their covered patio area was the perfect place to stop, relax, and enjoy an iced almond milk latte!

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.45.00 PM.png

1. Espresso Love

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for! My top coffee pick on Martha’s Vineyard: Espresso Love. Great coffee, vegan and gluten free baked goods, fresh lunch, and the prettiest outdoor seating. You must make this place a priority! It took me until the second week to find this place, so unfortunately I only went twice. If I could’ve, I would’ve gone every day! And the quinoa bowl with sweet potatoes… wow.

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.41.46 PM.png

What’s your favorite coffee spot on the Vineyard? My favorite coffee of all time, not on the Vineyard, is 1. Starbucks and 2. Dave’s Coffee in Westerly Rhode Island. If you’re looking for more food options on the Vineyard, check out this post!

 

One thought on “Best Coffee on Martha’s Vineyard

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

